As the owner of a data store item or organization administrator, you can manage data store settings to help organization members discover and use the data store. This includes updating the overview information for the item, sharing the data store, changing the item's status, enabling delete protection on the item, and defining the spatial extent to which the data in the data store applies.
You can also change which federated servers have access to the data store or delete a data store item if you no longer need it.
If the data store item accesses a database, the password used to access the database will likely change periodically. When the password changes, you must update it for the data store item.
Similarly, the password or secret key used to access a cloud store may change. If it does, you must update this information for the cloud data store item.
Add or remove from a federated server
After you create the data store item, you can allow more federated ArcGIS Server sites to access the data store. For example, if your administrator federates additional GIS Server and Image Server sites with the portal, you can add the data store to the new sites on the Settings tab of the data store item.
If you don't want a data store item to be available with one or more of the federated servers with which you registered it, you can remove it. For example, you may have registered the data store with four federated ArcGIS Server sites when you added the data store item, but you didn't realize one of the sites was not an ArcGIS GIS Server site. You can remove the data store from the erroneous site, which unregisters the database connection from this site.
You can only remove an ArcGIS Server site from the data store if there are no bulk-published services running on the site. For all other web layers, removing the ArcGIS Server site breaks the connection between the service and the data, which can cause problems later. For example, if you delete a database data store and you later change the password for the account that accesses the database, services that were using the deleted data store will stop functioning. That's because the services will be using the old password and, therefore, will no longer have access to the data. Because you deleted the data store item, you have no way of updating the password.
Only one federated server is allowed for a big data file share and that's the portal's ArcGIS GeoAnalytics Server site. You can remove the big data file share from this site if you intend to delete the big data file share.
Follow these steps to add an ArcGIS Server site to or remove a site from a data store item:
- Sign in to the portal and open the details page for the data store item.
- Click the Settings tab.
- Scroll down to the Servers section and click Edit Servers.
You may need to wait until the ArcGIS Server site statuses are verified before you can edit.
- Check or uncheck the box next to each federated server to change the site's access to the data store item.
- Click Save to apply the changes.
Delete a data store
In rare instances, you may decide you no longer want a particular data store item in your portal. For example, you may have registered a data store to publish layers for a short term project. Once the project is finished, you delete the layers and the data store item.
Deleting the data store item does not delete the data or the data source location. However, because dependencies exist between the data store item and the services and layers you publish from it, do not delete a data store item until you have deleted all web layers published from the data store and removed all federated servers from the data store.
To delete the data store item, do the following:
Update a database password
In most organizations, passwords must be reset on a regular basis to maintain security. When the password changes for the account that the data store item uses to access a database, you must update the password in the portal. Updated passwords are sent to every federated server that you added to the data store item.
Follow the steps below to update the password for a database data store item.
This workflow does not apply to database data store items that access cloud data warehouses.
- Open ArcGIS Pro and open the database connection properties of the database connection file (.sde) you used to create the data store item.
- Update the password in the database connection file and save the change.
- Sign in to the portal website from a machine that has access to the .sde file you altered in the previous steps.
- Open the details page for the data store item and click the Settings tab.
- Scroll down to the Database section and click Update Password.
- Click Import a connection file with an updated password for the connection you need to update.
- Choose the .sde file you updated in steps 1 and 2 and click Validate to confirm the federated servers can access the data store.
- Click Save to apply the changes.
Update information for cloud data store items
When you create a cloud data store, ArcGIS authenticates your connection using the credentials you provide (such as an IAM role or access keys). It cannot confirm that the cloud storage location exists in the location you specify. Therefore, it is possible that you could create a cloud data store item and mistype the bucket name or mistakenly choose the wrong region. When you attempt to publish an imagery layer from the data store, you'll receive a message that indicates the data store is inaccessible. To correct this, you can update the connection information for the cloud data store item.
You cannot change cloud providers, but you can change the other settings. You should only change the other settings, though, to correct a problem or update credentials. If you change the settings to another location for a cloud store from which you already published layers—for example, you specify a different Blob storage location—and the data is not in that other location, your layer may stop functioning.
Note that you can also update information for folder data stores. However, similar to changing the location for a cloud store, if you change the file path for a folder data store and the imagery data used by existing layers is not there, you may encounter problems with the existing layers.
Follow these steps to correct information for a cloud data store item:
- Sign in to the portal as the data store owner.
- Open the details page for the cloud data store item and click the Settings tab.
- Scroll down to the Data Store (cloud) section and click Update Password. You can edit the following for cloud stores:
- Amazon Web Services, Alibaba, and Google Cloud—You can edit the access key, secret key, region, bucket name, and folder.
- Microsoft Azure—You can edit the account name, account key, environment, container name, and folder.
If you already published imagery services from this cloud data store and change the storage location (such as the region, environment, container namer, or folder), you must ensure the same image files are in the new location. If they are not, the imagery services will no longer function.
- Click Validate to confirm the federated servers can access the data store.
- Click Save to apply the changes.